Meet the Designer
Preakness Hills was designed by William Henry "Willie" Tucker. Tucker came to the United States in 1895 to join his brother Sam, head professional at St. Andrew’s at the time. The Tucker brothers produced handmade golf clubs marketed under the name "Defiance." While at St. Andrew’s, Willie helped with the design of St. Andrew’s Mount Hope course. Later he designed such courses as the original North Hills in Douglaston and built the present 27-hole Ridgewood complex for A.W. Tillinghast.
Plans for the Preakness Hills course were drawn up in 1926. The full 18-hole course opened in April 1929, and played to a par of 72 at 6,400 yards.
Tucker’s course had remained virtually unchanged over the years, with one exception that took place in the early 1950's when the nines were reversed and tees extended to lengthen the course.
Throughout the 1970's and 1980's the face of the golf course started to change with the work of architects Geoffrey Cornish and Brian Silva. In an extensive refurbishing program, the club renovated many of the greens and bunkers. A major plan for landscaping and tree planting took place at the same time.
In 2005-2006, the golf course experienced a renaissance. With the expertise of golf course architect Ron Forse, a complete restoration of it’s past design and glory was achieved.
Today the course plays to just under 6800 yards, par 72 and a slope of 134. With a rich history to look back on and bright future ahead, Preakness Hills has much to be proud of these days. It has worked hard to take its place among the area’s premiere facilities. Preakness Hills will provide all with a warm welcome, the best in service, a great golf challenge and many pleasant memories.